I forgive

I forgive you for disappearing;
I forgive you for the disappointment.
I forgive you for leaving;
I forgive you for running away.

I forgive you for not wanting me in your life.
After all, there’s really not much I can say.
Maybe you’ll wonder what happened to the girl you left behind –
Maybe I’ll be a memory that you’ll forget and never come across anyway.
But I must learn to not love so easily
And the best lessons are only learnt the hard way.

You don’t have to explain.
I have lost love before.
I have fought wars before.
I know when I am not needed – I know when I’m not enough anymore.
I forgive you for the wound
I forgive you for the scar.
We all have to live our lives, right? I can’t punish you for not wanting me in yours.

Take the train and land at your destiny.
I hope you find the happiness you were looking for.
Who cares, if it’s me or someone else who comes to pick you up?
Maybe I’ll be in a distant land, reaching my goals as with your life, you go on.

I thank you for your kindness.
I thank you for your time.
It meant the world to me – to me it mattered a lot.
Thank you for the lessons you gave
And thank you for all your help.
On with our lives we go,
Forgiving mistakes we never meant to make.

2 thoughts on “I forgive

Leave a Reply

