I get you, Serena.

Serena in Gossip Girl always wanted to escape the world she lived in and create her own little world somewhere far far away. Never have I connected more to a character than I have today.. Serena took refuge in drugs to escape the feelings of abandonment, to escape the harsh reality that was her life. I never really understood why somebody would do that.. I mean take drugs. Just because you couldn’t face life?
‘Jeez, that’s not brave’,I would have said probably. But not today. Isn’t it better sometimes to forget that you are a part of the world that you are a part of? Isn’t it better to forget those who never lived upto your expectations or those who betrayed you? Though I am not really going pro drugs here, all I am saying is that – Serena, I now get you.
A kid who learnt from Disney movies to believe in magic and things such as ‘good wins over evil’ must find it really difficult to digest the fact that life is actually quite different from those sugar coated stories. Many of the kids who played the protagonist in these movies have now quit the industry , stopped speaking to their parents, have been involved in various legal battles, and are currently wasting their wealth on a packet of cocaine. One may ask, where are those fairy tales we were promised? Will the good ones win? EVER?
All this makes me wonder is it really okay to dream? It’s the dreams we have that get broken first and then the rest (chronologically the dreams then the heart and then the spirit). If it were upto me, I would make it absolutely and legally necessary for parents to tell their kids the truth about life as soon as they turn 5. An iron law at that.

One thought on “I get you, Serena.

  1. 488164 207293An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I feel which you need to write a lot more on this subject, it may well not be a taboo topic but typically folks are not enough to speak on such topics. Towards the next. Cheers 26794

Leave a Reply

